Dillinger Land

Dillinger Land

Endless variety between the Swabian mountains and the Danube

The Danube flows through the entire Dillinger Land area from west to east. Between the foothills of the Swabian Jura mountains in the north and the northernmost foothills of the Alps in the south lie the sparsely populated Donauried area and the fertile Danube Valley. Picturesque cities dot the banks of the Danube like a string of pearls.

It all starts with the garden city of Gundelfingen, with its pair of nesting storks right atop City Hall. Then comes Lauingen, the hometown of scholar Albertus Magnus, which features towers and buildings worth seeing. The urban district of Faimingen, part of Lauingen, was once a Roman settlement and spa site, marking one of the largest Roman temple complexes north of the Alps. These cities are characteristic of the Dillinger Land area, as is the area’s namesake, the city of Dillingen itself, which lies farther downstream along the Danube. The charming historic city center, with its impressive sacred buildings, was once the seat of the bishops of Augsburg, which is why the city is also fondly known as the “Swabian Rome.” And let’s not forget Höchstädt. The fourth city founded by the Hohenstaufen dynasty on the Danube went down in world history. During the War of the Spanish Succession, Bavarian-French troops fought the bloody battle of Höchstädt/Blindheim here against allied forces in 1704. Starting out from here to the Swabian district capital of Augsburg will take you to Wertingen, the fifth city founded by the Hohenstaufen dynasty in the Dillinger Land area. It boasts a romantic historic city center, Baroque city church, and a historic castle, all inviting visitors to linger for a while and enjoy. Cultural delights are also found outside the cities themselves, in idyllic villages and towns. The Rococo church in Unterliezheim, the Maria Medingen convent, and Schloss Haunsheim (Haunsheim Castle) are among the many local gems that are especially worth seeing.

The harmony between the rocky Swabian Jura, the broad Danube Valley, and the rolling foothills of the Alps forms a fascinating sequence of different natural settings. Cycling tours north of the Danube quickly lead up into the Swabian Jura – a true “el dorado” for mountain bikers. South of the Danube, visitors can marvel at the breathtaking expanse of the Danube Valley before climbing into the low foothills, which are almost reminiscent of the uplands of the Alps themselves. This sharp contrast in landscapes takes place over a distance of just under twenty kilometers. Two long-distance hiking trails (the Schwäbische Alb-Südrandweg and the Jakobsweg, part of the German section of the Way of St. James or Camino de Santiago) cross the Dillinger Land area. Various themed routes have now been developed to connect with these trails, leading from the heights of the Swabian Jura down to the Danube plain. So if you would like to enjoy fabulous panoramic views from the foothills of the Swabian Jura (Schwäbische Alb) over the sweeping expanse of the Danube Valley, take a refreshing dip in one of countless lakes open for swimming on the Danube plain, or visit enchanting small towns to discover a wealth of culture, welcome to the Dillinger Land area!

Dillinger Land

Dillinger Land

Unendliche Vielfalt zwischen Alb und Donau

Die Donau durchfließt das Dillinger Land von West nach Ost in seiner ganze Breite. Zwischen den Ausläufern der Alb im Norden und den nördlichsten Hügeln des Alpenvorlandes im Süden liegen das dünn besiedelte Donauried und das fruchtbare Donautal. Entlang der Donau reihen sich malerische Städte wie Perlen an einer Schnur.

Die Gärtnerstadt Gundelfingen mit seinem Storchenpaar mitten auf dem Rathaus macht den Anfang. Gefolgt von Lauingen, der Heimatstadt des Gelehrten Albertus Magnus mit ihren sehenswerten Türmen und Bauten. Im Lauinger Stadtteil Faimingen siedelten und kurten schon die Römer, in einer der größten römischen Tempelanlagen nördlich der Alpen. Diese Städte prägen das Dillinger Land ebenso wie weiter donau-abwärts die namensgebende Stadt Dillingen. Die reizende Altstadt und ihre beeindruckenden Sakralbauten, waren einst Sitz der Augsburger Bischöfe. Daher bezeichnet man die Kreisstadt auch liebevoll als das „Schwäbisches Rom“. Nicht zu vergessen ist Höchstädt. Die vierte Stauferstadt an der Donau ging in die Weltgeschichte ein. Im Spanischen Erbfolgekrieg duellierten sich bei der blutigen Schlacht von Höchstädt/Blindheim im Jahre 1704 bayerisch-französische Truppen mit den Alliierten. Wer sich von hier auf den Weg in die schwäbische Bezirkshauptstadt Augsburg macht, kommt über Wertingen, die fünfte Staufer-Stadt im „Dillinger Land“. Eine romantische Altstadt, die barocke Stadtpfarrkirche und das historische Schloss laden zum Verweilen ein. Kultur pur findet man auch fernab der Städte in idyllischen Dörfern. Die Rokoko-Kirche in Unterliezheim, das Kloster Maria Medingen und das Schloss Haunsheim sind neben vielen weiteren Kleinoden besonders sehenswert.

Der Dreiklang aus steiniger Alb, weitem Donautal und voralpinem Hügelland bildet eine faszinierende Abfolge von unterschiedlichen Naturräumen. Radtouren nördlich der Donau führen schnell auf die Schwäbische Alb – einem echten Eldorado für Mountainbiker. Südlich der Donau kann man zunächst die atemberaubende Weite des Donautals genießen bevor es hinauf ins Hügelland geht, das schon fast den Charakter des Voralpenlands hat. Dieser ganze Landschaftswandel auf einer Distanz von knapp zwanzig Kilometern. Zwei Fernwanderwege (Schwäbischer Alb-Südrandweg und Jakobsweg) durchqueren das Dillinger Land. Damit eng verbunden sind nun mehrere Themenrouten von den Anhöhen der Alb hinunter in die Donauebene entwickelt worden. Wenn Sie also von den Ausläufern der Schwäbischen Alb herrliche Panoramablicke über die Weite des Donautals genießen, in der Donauebene den erfrischenden Sprung in einen der unzähligen Badeseen wagen oder in reizvollen Kleinstädten ganz viel Kultur entdecken wollen? Dann heißen wir Sie willkommen im Dillinger Land.